Pledge Your Loyalty!

29 03 2008

Many of you may be thinking that the issue of exploitation and sweatshops may not be high on the agenda for the Britsh media industry, however you would be wrong.

Just last week, ThisIsLondon.co.uk reported on how the opening of an American fashion giant’s first UK store in Regent Street, Banana Republic, had been disrupted by protesters. The disruption occured due to claims that garment workers in India making Banana Republic’s clothes are being forced to work more than 70 hours a week for as little as 15p an hour.

With more and more news articles being reported like this everyday, how can we, as consumers, help reduce the impact that our consumption habits play?

Well one way in which you can help is by pledging your loyalty.

While I was browsing the Internet I came across a campaign of ActionAids, that I have already mentioned in a previous newspost actually, entitled Who Pays? Pledge Your Loyalty.


(Copyright: ActionAid)

Through signing up to this campaign you will be pledging to the following:

Many people around the world who produce goods for UK supermarkets endure exploitation and poverty.I want Government regulation to tackle this problem so I know no-one has suffered producing the goods I buy.

Once you have signed up you will gain 300 loyalty points with the chance to earn more and more, simply through campaigning about this issue in a variety of ways.

Campaign options include downloading campaign posters and distributing them to others (500 points), answering poll questions on related topical issues (150 points) to even digitally dressing up like a banana, in order to spread the word to family and friends (1000 points).

Once enough points have been created you can then spend them on items such as ecologically-friendly bags.

So what are you waiting for? Pledge your loyalty like I have done and spread the word today!

Actions

Information

4 responses

31 03 2008
Raadhika

I’m signing! This is appalling! I thought that the Gap practiced more responsible work conditions. Banana Republic is owned by the Gap and this is terrible. I don’t usually shop at Banana Republic but I’m definitely not about to start now!

31 03 2008
John

I have been following this blog and am very pleased to see that there is an update about this very issue. I personally never cared either way for the Banana Republic, but now that this horrible affair has come to light, I will ban them. I honestly can not imagine anyone shopping from this chain if they are aware of this grave situation. I am sure that many people do not know though, and quite possibly and sadly, some do not.

Brilliant blog and keep up with the good work! Well done indeed!

31 03 2008
John

I just re-read my previous comment and meant to say that it is quite possible that people do not care about the Banana Republic’s irresponsible and immoral actions.

I apologize for the double commenting.

12 04 2008
Nikcole

This conduct of Banana Republic is absolutely disgraceful! I don’t know if any of you have ever been in one of those stores, but I boycotted them long ago just because they make clothes for skinny girls with no bodies and they charge way too much for them. You think, they can charge $50+ for one shirt, but they can’t pay one of their employees more then 15p/hour. C’mon. That’s ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

